User Status

The "Message Sharing" feature allows messaging and networking inside the wiki. Users can share their status messages which will displayed by the activity stream of their profile pages, as well as be the global one from the main home page.

The Message Stream Application is now disabled by default and needs to be enabled to activate the feature, as explained in the page "Enable / Disable the Message Stream" listed under "Related Pages". This was done in order to avoid cluttering the UI by default, considering that not all users would need the feature.

Share A Status Message

The {{messageSender /}} macro allows posting a message on any wiki page. You can add this macro with the CKEditor or you can edit any page in "Wiki" mode and add the line below:

{{messageSender /}}

MessageSenderMacro.png

Users can share a post on the main home page which will be visible:

  • to everyone
  • to followers
  • to a specific group

StatusMessageVisibleToGroup.png

The XWiki Group Picker is used by default by all the XCLASS properties of type "List of Groups". After selecting a group from the drop-down list, it will be added to the right. If you want to remove the selected group, just hover it and click on the red "X" in the top right corner.

SendMessageGroupAdded.png

This feature does not allow you to share a message to several groups at once.
  • to a specific user

StatusMessageVisibleToUser.png

Similarly with the Group Picker, the User Picker is used by default by all the XCLASS properties of type "List of Users". After selecting the user from the drop-down list, it will be added to the right. 

SendMessageUserAdded.png

To remove it, hover the username and click on the red "X" in the top right corner. Also, just like for groups, you won't be able to share a message to several users at once.

Recent posts will be displayed in the Activity Stream on the wiki home page.

PostStatusMessage.png

Share a Message on Your User Profile Page

You can also share a message via your user profile page using the "Send Message" widget located "My Activity Stream".

PostOnUserProfile.png

Share a Message on Another User's Profile Page

You can share status messages on another user's profile page. In case the user is not in your network (i.e. you are not following him/her), the Share Message widget is automatically set in order for your post to be visible only for that user.

PostOnAnotherUserProfile.png

Delete a Status Message

To delete one of your status messages:

  • click on your user avatar in the top menu bar
  • click the DrawerMenuIcon.png button to open the drawer menu, then on the user avatar or on your name
LoggedIn.pngUserAvatarTopBar.png

Next, in your user profile page, click on "Network" under "Settings". In the "Network activity" widget, hover over the post you wish to delete, click on the red "x" in the top right corner near the creation date

DeletePost.png 

and confirm. 

ConfirmPostDeletion.png

Another way is to go to the main home page, hover over the post you wish to delete in the main activity stream, click on the red "x" in the top right corner near the creation date and confirm.

Display the List of Users You Follow

To see the members of your network, click on your user avatar in the top menu bar,

UserAvatarTopBar.png

then click on "Network" under "Settings" in your user profile page.

SeeFollowedUsers.png

Follow an User

To follow the posts of another user, go his/her user profile page and click on "Follow".

FollowUser.png

Notice that the "Follow" button will then become "Following".

FollowingUser.png

Unfollow an User

To unfollow an user, you have 2 options:

  • Go to the user profile page and click on the red "x" to the right of the "Following" button which will then become "Follow".

    UnfollowUser.png

  • Go to the "Network" tab from your user profile page, then click on the corresponding "Unfollow" link.

    UnfollowUserFromProfile.png 

   

Search this space